Taco Night

For Ma’s birthday I made taco’s with all the fixins.

I started with fresh guacamole.

Guacamole

I bought avocado’s & limes from a local Mexican store located on Fort St in Lincoln Park: Abarrotes Sin Limite & Taqueria. Whenever I buy avocados from Kroger or Meijer they either aren’t ripe or they are rotten. When I buy them @ this local grocery store they are perfectly ripe and less expensive. I bought 3 avocado’s, 2 limes, and one package of small tortillas and my total came to $4.65. That’s so cheap! 

Abarrotes Sin Limite & Taqueria on Urbanspoon

Combine 2 avocados, 1/4 small diced onion, 1 clove of garlic, juice of 1 lime, salt, pepper, and red pepper seasoning for a little heat.

I left out tomato, but add it if you like.

Tip: Place the pit of the avocado in the guacamole to prevent it from turning brown in the fridge. Lime juice also works.

Image

Taco Meat

Next, I browned up 1 lb of ground turkey and drained the grease.

Saute with onions and peppers and season with cumin salt, and pepper.

I added one package of taco seasoning and 1 small can of tomato sauce. I like using tomato sauce versus just water because it creates a thicker sauce.

Let simmer on low heat to marry all the flavors together for 20 min.

Image

Fried Corn Relish

While the meat is simmering, I saute onions and peppers in olive oil and butter.

Add corn and saute on medium-high heat until corn gets browned.

Butter is great for browning and you may need to add another tablespoons to help the corn along.

Image

Since I have issues when it comes to making rice, I cheated and went to Taco Especial located on Southfield Rd in Ecorse, and bought authentic Spanish rice and refried beans. This is a local Mexican restaurant that I have been going to ever since I was little and it’s pretty tasty.

Taco Especial on Urbanspoon

Toppings

I thinly sliced carrots, yellow bell peppers, and green onions.

I chopped romaine mix with purple cabbage & spinach.

Top with your favorite cheese, sour cream, guacamole, veggies, and corn relish.

Image

I fried flour tortillas in olive oil to give them a slight crispy crunch.

Image

Image

Our taco dinner turned out great and Ma was very impressed with the meal. Tacos are also great for any meal including game day!!

http://www.thenewsherald.com/?rss=news

Leave a Reply

