Bourbon’s on Sycamore

Yesterday my brother, Jason and I wanted to grab lunch @ Coastal Thai in Wyandotte, but we found out that it doesn’t open until 4 pm, so we went a few doors down to Bourbons on Sycamore. I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and I’m glad fate directed us to try out Bourbons.

Fried Brussels Sprouts: Brussels Sprouts marinated in Balsamic Vinegar and flash fried. The Balsamic was a nice touch to the brussels sprouts. The only thing I didn’t like was that the brussels were a little on the burned side. Flash fried is defined as cooking at a high temperature for a minimal amount of time: 15 seconds or so. Judging by the color, I don’t think these brussels were cooked for only 15 seconds. Regardless, I respect the idea and the light crispy texture of the brussel leaves. It was very interesting and like nothing I’ve ever had.

Image

Blackened Salmon Wrap with Dill Mayo & Tempura Purple Sweet Potato Fries: The salmon was served on a spinach wrap which was the first thing that caught my eye. The dill mayo was cool & refreshing, yet subtle. I ordered a side of pickles (because I love them) and they added a nice crunch to this light wrap. Now, when I ordered the purple sweet potato fries I had no idea what I was getting myself into. The tempura batter was light and combined with the sweet potato, had an elephant ear flavor. The sweet potato wasn’t too rich, but perfect. It was delicious! When you go to Bourbons on Sycamore, you have to order these! And tell them the Eat Food Detroit blog sent you.

Image

Bourbons on Sycamore is new to Downtown Wyandotte, but they fit right in. The food was unique and our server was on point. Bourbons brings that neighborhood bar feel with an upscale flavor experience. They have seasonal draft beers (some of which were unavailable), but my brother was able to find a couple he liked. The place was decorated with holiday swag and flat screen TVs making it a warm, cozy atmosphere.

http://www.thenewsherald.com/?rss=news

Bourbons on Sycamore on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

